09 Jul 2021

How to keep a Facebook profile private?

If we are completely honest, Facebook already collects a lot of data from every user. It can easily classify us based on our interests, age, and even the location from which we log on to the social platform. We can help you make your profile as private as possible, at least as much as the official privacy settings allow. Hide most of your photos, posts, and personal information in your profile description or make it visible to a limited audience. What if your future employer decides to check your Facebook profile?. You should be prepared for any scenario in life.
Because Facebook's privacy settings are quite a bit scattered, it's very challenging to find them all on your own. But we'll show you in detail where to find each configuration. Read the following article attentively!



 

Explore the following possibilities to keep your privacy: 

Delete all irrelevant, unnecessary, or old information

The first step you should take on the path to the privacy of your Facebook account is removing all photos and posts that you do not want to show on your page. 

You can delete each post individually by:

1. Finding the needed post.

3. Clicking on the three dots icon in the upper right corner.
2. After that, you need to press the "Delete" button. Now the post is officially deleted!

But there is also another option that's worth mentioning. Instead of deleting a post or a picture, you can hide it from the timeline.

The instructions for this operation are almost identical: 

1. Finding any post.

2. Clicking on the three dots icon in the upper right corner. 

3. Selecting Hide from Timeline.

But note that even if they don't show up on the page, they will still be visible in the activity log. And people will be able to find the photos in Page's Photos section.

General privacy settings

The other recommendation we have for beginners is the general Privacy Checkup. It's a particular tool introduced by Facebook back in 2014 that recently got updated. Thanks to it, you can review your key privacy settings and your permissions in them. But there's one big, unpleasant downside: this tool doesn't cover the complete list of privacy settings. Most of the rest you have to search by yourself. But we will help you with it quickly!

Here is a list of available settings in the tool:  

To use this tool, you should look for the question mark icon. It is in the upper right corner near the notifications. Click on it, then a small window with a list will pop up, so select Privacy Checkup with a small lock icon.

But if you want to review the privacy settings yourself, click on the downward arrow in the upper right corner of the page, on the blue bar. Then enter Settings

From there, look for the Privacy Section. There you can edit in detail who can see your posts, can add you as a friend, and if others can find you by phone number or mail. And also whether your profile will show up in search engines.

Adjust each post and photos privacy settings

Even if we strongly want to tell as little as possible about ourselves online, you can't hide your name and profile picture on Facebook. It will always be public. 

But you can have control over the visibility of posts,  for example. When you are writing a post, there is a choice of people who will see it on the right side. It can be seen by PublicFriendsFriends other than, and any other group you created. Or you can make the post visible only to yourself

The next thing will be albums and photos. Luckily, you can set them up just like the posts. Change the privacy settings for albums or each picture separately. Just click Edit, then under Privacy select the proper group of people with whom you are ready to share personal photos.

Remove tags of you on others photos

And now you know how to adjust the privacy settings of your posts and photos. But it's almost impossible to predict the activity of your acquaintances on social media. If they happen to have posted an image with you and even tagged you, there is one pretty simple way to change that. To get rid of the tags and the linkage of that photo to your profile, hurry up and take the following steps:

Open the post or the picture you don't want to be related to.

  1.  If it's a post, you need to click on the three dots icon in the upper right corner. After that, select the Remove tag option. Your name is removed from the post now.
  2. If it's a photo, click on the three dots icon in the upper right corner. Click Remove tag and confirm with OK.

To avoid these situations, we suggest that you change one of the settings.  Use Timeline Review in Settings. Go to Timeline and tagging. Do you see Review posts you're tagged in before the post appears on your timeline? Here click Edit and select Enabled. What does this option allow you to do? You can control which posts you'll be tagged in before they appear on your page.

How to create a Facebook list

Create your own groups of people with whom you are willing to share more personal Facebook activity. To do this, use custom lists from your acquaintances to avoid oversharing

You can find the basic lists created by Facebook in the Friend lists tab in the Explore section, on the left side of the Home page. Here are three of them: Close friends, Acquaintances, and Restricted. You can add people to them yourself. 

In Restricted, you should add those with whom you will share information very rarely. If you want to create your list from zero, click Create List.

Restrict who can message you

Everyone can find your profile and text you if you have the default messages settings at the moment. Messages from your friends will be shown in dialogs. But texts from strangers will appear in the Message Requests category. What's interesting about this section? First of all, even if you read them, the sender will not notice it and won't be able to call you. The second is that this way you can decide if you want to reply or not. 

  1. To ensure that only friends of friends can send you messages, you should click on the Quick Help button with a question mark icon in the top left corner
  2. Then go to who can contact me and select Friends of friends.

Disable integration with apps

Quite often, we use a Facebook profile to log into other applications or social media. You will be surprised, but they require lots of data and even access to your friends list

If you have stopped using any of them, you should disable the integration between the apps and your Facebook account. Break the connection by opening Settings and clicking on Apps and websites. Here, check the complete list of the websites and programs, and afterward delete the ones you no longer need or use.

Forbid location tracking

If you wouldn't want to disclose your Facebook location, it's worth reading these directions. The easiest solution is not to tag it when you post. But it is harder to control when you are using the social network on your phone. Facebook can track you via GPS. So try to turn off location tracking in the settings of the mobile device itself. 

  1.  If you have iOS:
    Open your phone settings, tap Privacy, go to Location Services and Facebook. To never be tracked, select Never.
     
  2.  If you have Android:
    Open your phone settings, click Location, go to App access to location, then Facebook. To never be tracked, select Deny.

Por Sofiia Skorska el 09 Jul 2021


Si esto fue útil, comparta para ayudar a otros y síganos en Facebook, Twitter y Instagram

rating star rating star rating star rating star rating star
Clasificación: 1,0 - 1 comentarios